

SHORE ACRES YACHT CLUB, INC.

800 Drum Point Rd. SHORE ACRES, NEW JERSEY 08723

HISTORY OF THE SHORE ACRES. YACHT CLUB

On September 17, 1940 the Shore Acres Yacht Club of Osbornville, N.J. applied for a Certificate of Incorporation which was granted on October 3, 1940.

The names of the original Corporate Members were: William J. Allsopp, William G. Brown, Clarence O. Greason, Frank B. Hineline, Thomas C. Fraser, Peter W. Hunt, Fred D. Godfrey, August R. Steimle, Charles A. Moser, Rowland I. Haines and Michael F. Sesselman.

The site selected for the Yacht Club was where Drum Point Road meets the Barnegat Bay. The property was Deeded to the Shore Acres Yacht Club on March 23, 1941 by the Shore Acres Corporation of Osbornville, N.J. The present Club House was erected immediately and the property on the Barnegat Bay was timber bulkheaded replacing the original sod bank bulkhead.

A launching ramp was constructed and a manually operated hoist was erected. On February 21, 1945 Riparian Rights were obtained on the Bayfront portion of the Club.

The list of Past Commodores is as follows:

1941 - William Allsopp	1965 - Robert E. Burslem
1942 - " " "	1966 - James G. Davison
1943 - " "	1967 - Robert K. France
1944. – "	1968 - George W. Seiler
1945 - Richard Pennock	1969 - Edward L. LaVance Sr.
_1946 - Dr. J. Carl Behler	1970 - Russell T. Wilson
1947 - " " " "	1971 - Dr. Thomas H. Adams
1948 - Fred Auchmoody	1972 - Joseph A. Antonelli
1949 - Edward Fehskens	1973 - Lewis P. Linde
1950 - Dr. Leo T. Chylack,	1974 - Vincent Iacopino
1951 - John O. Boldt	1975 - James H. Hitchcock
1952 - Gordon Virkler	1976 - Howard W. Secor
1953 - Dr. Millard F. Tomlinson	1977 - William D. Donohue Jr.
1954 - Harrison F. Starn	1978 - Harold V. Lewry
1955 - Frederick King	1979 - Jeffrey T. LaVance
1956 - Gordon Virkler	1980 - Michael L. Hartung
1957 - William G. Alznauer	1981 - Robert S. Hartmann
1958 - Harry Dubbs	1982 - James A. Lorenz
1959 - F. Stratton Knox	1983 - Albert W. Jansson
1960 - Dr. J. Franklin	1984 - Robert K. France
1961 - Roland A. Gehweiler	1985 - " " "
1962 - Thomas D. Keenan	1986 - Barbara A. Davison
1963 - William D. Donohue Sr.	1987 - " " "
1964 - John E. Coffin	

The Shore Acres Yacht Club was accepted as a member of the BBYRA in 1941.

Our original fleet consisted of Comets and Lightning Class boats. Some of our members also sailed Sneak Boxes and Penquins. Our present fleet consists of Flying Scots, the Charter for which was granted to the Club in May, 1963; and Hobie Cats, with the Hobie Fleet #65 starting March 12, 1973.

The fact that the Club was organized just before the start of World War II, and many of our young sailors went in the service, it was a few years before our sailing program really got underway.

Our Ladies Auxiliary was organized immediately and held weekly luncheons, as well as many dinners, and are still active in cooperating with the entertainment committee. The money they have raised and contributed to the Club for maintaining the kitchen, as well as replacing same, plus many other projects has been an asset to the Club.

In 1986 Barbara Davison was elected Commodore of the Shore Acres Yacht Club. While we realize she is not the first female on the Bay to hold this honor, she is our first Lady Commodore. Commodore Davison's husband also served as Commodore in 1966.

Compiled by: Rick & Bobbie Starn

August, 1987